Welcome to the Rise of Agon Community

Create an account today to engage in discussions and community events on the Rise of Agon forums.

Hi

Discussion in 'New Player Tips & Tricks' started by racethemoon, Nov 17, 2018.

1. racethemoon

racethemoon New Member

Never heard of this before. A little of my history... I'm a longtime MMORPG fan and also a longtime fan of open world PvP--especially sandbox worlds. My first multiplayer PvP would have been Quake 2 or Tribes in 98. For MMORPGs, I first played on Rallos Zek in EQ in 1999. I played UO and on UO servers. I played shadowbane and several PvP MUDs. In 2012 I started playing Wurm Online on the Chaos server and stayed there for years. I'm still fond of Wurm Online and others like Xsyon. I played SOTA shortly.

So I was browsing the mmorpg forums when someone mentioned Darkfall. That's a game I've known about for a while, but I thought it crashed and burned. I looked it up on steam and someone in the reviews sad it was dead since 2016. So why did someone in the forums say it was worth playing? I went on google and found out there're 2 companies who bought the source code. One of htem produced Rise of Agaon. The reason I am here and not at the other one is because I read ROA has a NA server. I also thought it might have a more positive outlook on the whole PvE thing--I guess I was slightly hoping, since I read the other one was more based on the original DF.

That's how I came to be here. I don't ever remember knowing that DF died and split into 2 different games. My concern is how do they plan on getting new players if nobody knows??

Game looks interesting. I have ot admit despite my long history with PvP I very much love PvE. I hope hte PvE here is enough to be encouraging. And if PvP is the primary source of content, I hope the housing and village customization is up to my liking. I hope there's some resource-driven conflict. Plain PvP by itself never was fun for me.