Welcome to the Rise of Agon Community

Create an account today to engage in discussions and community events on the Rise of Agon forums.

Public Test Server Patch Notes - March 5th, 2018

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Andrew, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. Madmatt

    Madmatt Deadeye
    Hero

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    102
    Excellent I was actually going to ask you guys about this. I suspected it was the case but I only just got the test server downloaded the other day so wasn't sure if it was that or patch related.I spent a little bit of time tonight testing the changes and these are my observations.

    Recalling seems to be fixed for me, Good job!

    I generally like what you've done with figurine management with the exception of a figurine automatically going into the slot when its empty for the following reasons. Assuming that slot is empty for whatever reason, I decide that I want to ride to the coast then raft to an island paradise. I grab the raft first because hey I saw it first in my bank. Then I go to use my nifty spawn mount skill and it just keeps telling me in system that my item failed. Now I'm irritated because I'm brand new, not even out of my noobie protection yet and I can't even get my mount to work right! In reality I see whats going on here and the quick way to correct it is to either double click your mount in your back pack to swap them around or use your mount hotkey for the same result. My point is the potential for confusion. Now back to having pulled the raft first its now in my figurine slot and I decide screw rafting I'm taking my shiny new launch on this grand voyage so I decide to put the raft back in the bank but before I can do that I have to drag it to my back pack first then I can drag it to my bank. Just adds an extra step. Also If my intent is to pull a mount out of the bank for a buddy or for a trade I will have to then potentially retrieve it from my paper doll before I can get it to the trade window again creating a step. These things are pretty trivial but worth thinking about. I also noticed when you equip a mount the description doesn't update the weight to the 90% reduced value. Not sure if you planned for it to or not just something I noticed.

    The patch notes said dropped containers would display weights now, they do not for me. Threw tons of stuff all over and none of them display weight just the name of what the actual item is.

    Does the journal not open on your test server? Because mine was white screened with number strings.

    The market is very well done and I'm looking forward to it. It was easy to figure out and straight forward to use. I didn't care for the fact that when listing an item the auction time frame drop down menu starts in the "instant" position. The reason being if there is no requests for that item it wont list unless you change the auction timer. Again very trivial but could be confusing for some. I don't know what you guys are thinking as far as vicinity to the bank for the actual market location but it feels like it needs to be very close. If I really want to get into a good buy, sell, listing session it almost seems like I would need my bank open at the same time as the market page. If I want to list some big stacks of stuff that could potentially be a lot of overweight running back and forth. Same for buying big stacks of stuff. All in all the market looks great I can tell you put some serious work into it!

    That's all for now,

    Matt
     
    kilrain, Grimtide, Andrew and 3 others like this.
  2. Andrew

    Andrew Obsidian Golem
    Staff Member BPG Representative

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,960
    Likes Received:
    4,489
    Thanks for the feedback, appreciate the time to write up not only: Yay it works but also some feedback on usability! It's difficult to design interfaces to be intuitive sometimes because it's a lot like editing your own essay/book... you know the material too well to see the errors in flow/usage :D. The markets are designed to be convenient yes so you shouldn't have to go far to get to them. On the point of heavy items being brought to the market that's one we'll discuss as I can see the painfully slow players moving to the market lol... Though it would give a use to funhulks!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Madmatt likes this.
  3. Harley Franklin

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    245
    ETA on Patch? This weekend or more next week?
     
    soulpcbr and NonFactor like this.
  4. MWTaylor

    MWTaylor Community Manager
    Staff Member BPG Representative Game Designer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    5,182
    More than likely it will be early next week, but we will patch as soon as we can. We are getting very close now and put in the market asset today (see below).

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. soulpcbr

    soulpcbr Infernal

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    628
    Omg bro.... Everyone is cursing me. I told everyone to activate their subscriptions and everyone activated but the market did not arrive.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SinSemilla and Myater like this.
  6. MWTaylor

    MWTaylor Community Manager
    Staff Member BPG Representative Game Designer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    5,182
    It will be worth the wait.

    Plus, we have other things outside of the market system coming with this patch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SinSemilla likes this.
  7. Myater

    Myater Eodrin
    Hero

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    2,943
    I'm curious as to why every patch has to have multiple different things in it, but takes a long time to put in. Why not just space it out so you have multiple patches a month to keep people more interested for longer periods of time instead of 1 patch every month or 2, people come back for a short time, then disappear again.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. kilrain

    kilrain Shadow Knight
    Staff Member Developer Team Lead

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    6,396
    If things pan out that way we do. Sometimes it doesn't, sometimes we get lucky and it does.
     
  9. Harley Franklin

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    245
    Thanks for the honest reply! No need to rush!
     
  10. Andrew

    Andrew Obsidian Golem
    Staff Member BPG Representative

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,960
    Likes Received:
    4,489
    To expand on TJ's post it largely depends on the features being worked on. We aim for one, maybe two major features that define a patch and once they are complete we tidy up any other smaller tasks and put the patch out. The process of building a new feature, QA, bugfix/tweak and re-QA, etc, etc goes in cycles and while it's in a QA cycle the programmers work on other tasks so there's always things churning along. The workflow moves back and forth very organically the process is pretty good and we have a lot of design discussions and meetings throughout the whole process which sometimes causes new features to get pushed into a patch if they align right or if we think it's beneficial, or a feature may get expanded on its initial launch if we feel it's too shallow. Champions for example was massively increased in the scope of the patch, more than double the initial expectation easily and a big reason(Among other things such as holidays and both TJ and Myself moving at the end of the year :D) why that patch was delayed.

    Some systems require more time and hence why there's a delay between patches. Our next patch cycles after this one we expect to be faster 1-2 week smaller patches instead of a 4-5 week bigger patch. These will be the introduction of dynamic building systems, new transmute crafting skills, gear templates, bedrolls/chests for survival-style play, territory control new resource node system, magic balances to prepare for perk system, to name a few of the things most likely coming in the next couple months.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. MerleisAirdburne

    MerleisAirdburne Black Knight
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    934
    Thx for the update! much excite
     
  12. The Red King

    The Red King Black Knight
    Loyal Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    Why does it default to instant when trying to create a sell order or buy order?
    Why is instant even an option?? What is it for?
    Where are shields on the list?
    Mounts are not in the list / boats / warhulks etc
    Tried to sell 50 Earthrune shields and it says you cannot sell more items than you actually have - I have like 60 shields on me.... and the gold so not sure why I cant. I can sell one, just not more than one.
     
  13. kilrain

    kilrain Shadow Knight
    Staff Member Developer Team Lead

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    6,396
    A few changes have been made since the last PTS build. Right now when you right click on an item in your inventory and select either "Buy More" or "Sell" it first checks to see if there are any items like that available on the market. If there are then it will default to "Instant". What instant does is collects the highest bidder if you're selling, or the cheapest price if you're buying. This is so you don't have to look and item up and then sort by price, you already have that right then. If there are no items available then it will switch to 30 days and allow you to create an order.

    If you "view market details" or select an item from the drop down list you will see the top 50 for buy and sell based on price. Highest for buy, lowest for sell. If you select a sale order by clicking -> click buy button or right click and "buy this" or double click you get a window showing the item and all associated costs. The buy order section displays the current orders listed and allows you to create an order through right click or the "create order" button at the bottom, but in order to sell an item you right click (or long press) the item in your inventory.

    We'll look into the missing items, thanks for reporting! :D
     
    Andrew, The Red King and NonFactor like this.
  14. Grimtide

    Grimtide Evil Eye
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    7,540

    Should make a small market tutorial the first time a player uses the market!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. TyteDaddyTite

    TyteDaddyTite Obsidian Golem
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2,840
    That really is a great idea Grimtide! There should be a small tutorial when players first unlock begone, first unlock a ray, first unlock a 90, first do some crafting etc. It could go along way it helping new players learn the game!
     
    Fengor and Grimtide like this.
  16. Grimtide

    Grimtide Evil Eye
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    7,540
    First time they get ganked, first time they see a woman naked, first time they get a boner, Etc
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. The Red King

    The Red King Black Knight
    Loyal Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    This new build is much better.
    Couple things I found are A: you cant sell multiple of the same item. It would be nice if I am selling lets say 20 Earthrune shields that I should be able to put them on X amount of days and change the quantity from 1-20 or however many I want to sell and it lists them either all separately or as a singular and just keeps removing 1 at a time until they are all sold and it removes all 20 from my backpack. Meaning if I put a quantity of 20 and one sells, then it shows 19 left at that price.

    Second thing I noticed if I either select to look at market details on an item or I select an item from the left, meaning I go to say Earthrune shields and it highlights it, by selecting refresh market it should bring me back to home, it doesn't. I need to press most recent in order to go back to home.
    Also the mounts and ships are still missing.

    Also can you make it where we can either stretch the market, or make it where the whole market fits on one screen without having to use a slider?

    Overall much better!
     
  18. Harley Franklin

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    245
    Same thing with the big runebook, annoying that you cant see the whole thing in one page. Hate to have to scroll down
     
  19. Kilrath

    Kilrath Goblin Shaman
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    194
    there isnt enough screen space to make it so you dont have to scroll 50 buy and 50 sell orders just cant fit. Scrolling with your mouse is easy, if you hold Shift+scroll it will scroll side to side for you as well.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. soulpcbr

    soulpcbr Infernal

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    628
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Andrew, Billy Lee and NonFactor like this.