Welcome to the Rise of Agon Community

Create an account today to engage in discussions and community events on the Rise of Agon forums.

So.... 'Load Lag'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kal VenoM, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. Erock

    Erock Varangian Warthane
    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    Load lag is definitely an issue not everyone plays on birthday boy computers. I do, but I'm just saying not everyone does. An SSD does wonders for load lag, but Darkfall shouldn't have load lag.

    A lot of the slide show stuff during big sieges on NA I feel were due to the actual Darkfall server we were being provided with, bandwidth and networking issues from AV. Although nothing could stop you from getting load lag during a siege, so many people going in and out of your load radius. It can be annoying and very discouraging to players who play for sieges, and large scale pvp.

    Just remember: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGp2AHzqUic <-- This is not load lag this is something wrong with AV's servers. However you can see load lag spikes constantly throughout the video and hopefully can understand how some players will not be able to tolerate it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  2. Rawr

    Rawr Chosen of Khamset

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    328
    Thanks for bringing up the point, it is on my list of things of concern.

    The servers back in 2011, vs now... night and day. We will try to overkill the servers and see if we can remove the bottleneck.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. drillium

    drillium New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think we can assume people have built new (better) computers in the last 5 years. Don't know much about the technical aspects, but shouldn't this hep load lag too?
     
  4. Rawr

    Rawr Chosen of Khamset

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    328
    In theory yes! We shall see!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Dum Dum

    Dum Dum Celestial
    Prosperous Wealthy Hero

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    903
    Can anyone confirm SSD vs HD load times.. I dont think the differences were huge and minimal at best.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Neilk

    Neilk Web Development & System Admin
    Staff Member Team Lead

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    3,231
    Pretty sure it eliminated load lag.

    SDD load speed is between 200 MB/s and 550 MB/s

    HDD is anywhere from 50 – 120MB / s
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    BootyEater69 likes this.
  7. DAlonso

    DAlonso Finance Lead
    Team Lead

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    34
    Clanmates with SSD told that loadlag was much much less noticeable.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. nxte

    nxte Goblin Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    40
    Load lag was still there with an ssd. Loading into game from porting, relogging etc was much faster however.
     
  9. Rawr

    Rawr Chosen of Khamset

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    328
    Thanks for letting me know, I will look into server bottlenecks as much as possible. I'll keep everybody posted.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. DestLocke

    DestLocke Chosen of Khamset
    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    They attempted to address this in UW by loading player stuff "over time", which is why when you respawn in UW, you see yourself "pop in" piece by piece. This was AV's attempt at fixing the problem, albeit not a very good one. I don't know exactly why load lag exists at all - it seems like the game loads assets in a blocking fashion, which seems bizarre considering you never actually see people from 300m out, so it wouldn't matter if were "invisible" for a split second while textures etc loaded rather than freezing the client.
     
  11. Lahmage

    Lahmage Deadeye
    Hero

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    144
    kal venom = plumber
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Miia

    Miia Goblin Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    13
    Or some magic item/effect that makes warning sounds, or something, when enemies are within X meters.
     
  13. Erock

    Erock Varangian Warthane
    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    Yea Juice Man had that....
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Nat and BootyEater69 like this.
  14. Miia

    Miia Goblin Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    13
    Heh, some kind of hack? Well, if the Darkfall client knows, I guess it's hard to prevent people from making this. So why not let it be an ingame feature (that comes at some cost)?