Welcome to the Rise of Agon Community

Create an account today to engage in discussions and community events on the Rise of Agon forums.

System requirements for ROA?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Toddy, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. Toddy

    Toddy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi guys I'm just wondering what the system requirements for rise of agon?
     
  2. Suncross

    Suncross Ghost

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    148
    Most likely the same as regular DFO. If anything, you may be able to run it with less system power after they optimize the game.

    Here is a general rule of thumb when wanting to run computer games in 2009:

    -4-8gb of ram
    -3.0+ GHZ cpu (lots more that goes into the CPU specs, but speed is really important, and so is INTEL chipsets)
    -2gb memory graphics card, with a decent speed

    Anything else is really subjective. You may want a good sound card, as I am sure they may not be able to fix the sound issues unless they completely reform the whole process.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Bartlebe likes this.
  3. nxte

    nxte Goblin Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    40
    2GB of graphics memory is not needed at all.
    My game performance was almost identical with the 9800gtx(500MB memory) and my previous 560ti (1GB) and now my 770(2GB) due to same CPU. CPU clock speed was the most dominating factor back then and probably is today.

    Edit: This is based on turning shadows off.
    The ones with best fps back in 2012 was the people with i7 2600K above 4GHz. New intel's with similar or higher speeds would most likely give better results.
     
  4. Toddy

    Toddy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Cheers guys!
     
  5. Fenris

    Fenris Celestial
    Hero

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    714
    I don't know if this was a myth or not, but I heard that having a good sound card (as in not integrated) ups the performance so much more during huge fights because the game has to load so many sounds all the time.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Nat

    Nat Shadow Knight
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    7,581
    Check out the standalone. It'll give you a very rough estimate if you're able to run the game effectively. The standalone is poorly optimised and not very demanding as there are no mega sieges, but you can get an idea of how it'll work.
     
  7. mcdoogs

    mcdoogs Chosen of Khamset

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    596
    I believe it. You used to get massive network and fps gains in giant sieges by disabling sounds altogether, until AV made that impossible to do. After that change, giant fights were never playable. This game client was always cpu-bound, a good sound card can take some of the processing burden off of the cpu.
     
    Fenris likes this.
  8. Hekkr

    Hekkr Deadeye
    Hero

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    128
    I still remember playing this game on a 8800 GTX. And an old CPU. Alot of old rigs can easily play the game with new optimization
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. PENETRATOR

    PENETRATOR Earth Elemental
    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    144
    There was also a memory leak involving mana lend spell. Made your RAM fill up quick. They fixed it but memory leaknage was still there just not as severe.

    I'd get at least 8gb RAM, 16 is optimal. You also gotta think ahead: browsers take some ram, Google Chrome being the worst. Maybe youll be playing another game while harvesting. Or running multiple DFO clients. Just a heads up. RAM is cheap
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    NonFactor and Fenris like this.
  10. Eagleglow

    Eagleglow Ghost
    Hero

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gpu memory depends on the res you gonna run.
    But a normal newer computer would have no truble running darkfall heck my old intel pentium one core at 3 ghz workt great for farming 45 ish fps
    --- Post updated ---
    The darkfall engine really likes intel cpus over amd, because intel cpus have more actions per clock/ more horsepower per core than amd.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. RagnarokDel

    RagnarokDel Frostjarl
    Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    666
    Minimum
    • Core Duo 2ghz
    • 4GB DDR2
    • Nvidia GTX 8600 or AMD HD 4850
    • Windows 7
    • 15 GB Free Space
    Recommended
    • I5 2.8 ghz
    • 8 GB DDR3
    • Nvidia GTX 460 or AMD 6850
    • Windows 7
    • SSD with at least 15 gb free space
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Zoro

    Zoro Spellgazer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    225
    I'm using a computer I built for $450 in 2012, and the worthless computer I used before that was capable of running DFO if that gives you any idea.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Postman Pat

    Postman Pat Akathar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    110
    Let me just teleport to the year 2018 and I'll let you know.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. Cecropia

    Cecropia Goblin Scout
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Whats up guys, just wondering if anyone could tell me whether or not my old Envy laptop will be able to run the game; here's the specs:

    1.6-GHz Intel Core i7-720QM

    8 GB ram

    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850 1 GB

    I've still got my old tower that I used to run the game on, but I'd like to be able to use the laptop as well if it's possible.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  15. Suncross

    Suncross Ghost

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    148
    What? It's about having the best quality experience possible. Why gimp any part of the graphics? On the other hand, one could say that it didn't matter if you had 1mb or 100,000 mb of graphics memory if your card was an AMD, because they couldn't run shadows in DFO properly.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. Brat

    Brat Akathar
    Hero

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    85
    In my opinion,laptops are the worst choice for gaming.

    Surely there're gaming laptops,but hey,quite expensive.

    Im not an expert,so i will just bump it for ya.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Synna

    Synna Black Knight
    Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    636
    i would imagine very similar to what it was in 2009 ,.,.,
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. Lexendros

    Lexendros Infernal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    573
    Running this game on a solid-state HD is literally game changing in large scale combat/ship combat.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. Eletas Whitevale

    Eletas Whitevale Undead Dwarf
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    88
    Can't afford much more than my crappy old laptop at the moment. Hopefully I still have the minimum reqs to play, but I know sieges are going to suck
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. Synna

    Synna Black Knight
    Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    636
    true elves do not need fancy computers to kill the dorf scum
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Eletas Whitevale likes this.